Nasrat Haqparast was supposed to fight on the UFC Fight Night 127 card in London, England, this past weekend.

But then doctors got a look at his gnarly infected eye and said, “Whoa, momma!” So mere hours before the event was scheduled to get underway, the UFC scrapped his bout against Nad Narimani, and released this statement:

Based on advice from the UFC medical team on Saturday morning, Nasrat Haqparast was deemed unfit to fight due to an infectious eye condition and his bout against Nad Narimani has been cancelled. UFC FIGHT NIGHT: WERDUM vs. VOLKOV will proceed with 10 fights, beginning at 6pm GMT / 2pm ET / 11am PT.

The UFC did right by Haqparast, paying him for showing up.

And according to Haqparast, that infected eye was no run-of-the-mill thing.

Yikes. Here’s to not fighting with infected eyes!