Invicta is enjoying what you might call a “re-launch” Saturday night, at the Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Missouri — in more ways than one.

Not only does Invicta 8: Waterson vs. Yamada represent the first Invicta event of the 2014 calendar year, almost ten months since Invicta 7: Honchack vs. Smith — but it’s the promotion’s debut on UFC Fight Pass; and the first Invicta event since women’s MMA enjoyed new exposure since the airing of The Ultimate Fighter season 18.

Fans are hopeful for Invicta 8 to re-gain some momentum for the promotion. Earlier shows have had an impressive mix of new and emerging talent, as in the case of last year’s Invicta 6. As I wrote last year, that event was a “coming-out party” for an exciting new face in MMA, Mizuki Inoue.

But for all the quality action that Invicta has provided, they have struggled to find an audience.

Maybe Invicta 8 will change that. The show is headlined by a atomweight title bout, where champion Michelle Waterson will defend against challenger Yasuko Tamada. The co-main event will see Stephanie Eggink face Katja Kankaanpaa for Invicta’s vacant strawweight title. Along with a solid cast of women’s MMA up-and-comers, some familiar faces are found on the undercard; including a bout between pioneers Roxanne Modafferi and Tara LaRosa.

Invicta FC President Shannon Knapp was excited to describe her promotion’s relationship with the UFC to MMA Junkie Radio back in June: “Let’s face it: There’s a best of the best out there. For me, to have this opportunity to have their marketing machine behind us, to have a home for the long-term, to be in control of our own promotion and things like this, those are all the deciding factors.”

The event will begin at 5 pm EST.

Full Card:

Atomweights: Michelle Waterson vs. Yasuko Tamada
Strawweights: Stephanie Eggink vs. Finland Katja Kankaanpää
Bantamweights: Ediane Gomes vs. Tonya Evinger
Flyweights: Michelle Ould vs. DeAnna Bennett
Bantamweights: Roxanne Modafferi vs. Tara LaRosa
Bantamweights: Peggy Morgan vs. Irene Aldana
Lightweights: Veronica Rothenhausler vs. Charmaine Tweet
Strawweights: Ashley Cummins vs. Alexa Grasso
Atomweights: Jodie Esquibel vs. Jinh Yu Frey
Strawweights: JJ Aldrich vs. Delaney Owen

Cover photo credit: Esther Lin, Invicta FC