With so much happening for the Irish mixed martial arts scene lately, thanks in no small part to Cathal Pendred’s successes in the Cage Warriors promotion and Conor McGregor’s upcoming second fight in the UFC in Boston, the local scene is going from strength to strength.

This weekend Senkai Promotion’s BattlezoneFC 8 takes place in the Neptune Stadium in County Cork, with a massive card stacked with amateur and professional bout aplenty.

Having been primarily based out of Dublin, this will mark the first time that the show will be held outside of Dublin’s fair city. Andy Ryan, CEO and founder of Senkai Promotions and Battlezone, expressed his delight at the interest from fighters all over the country regarding fighting for the promotion.

“2013 is going to be a breakout year for BattleZoneFC. We’re going to Cork on the 6th July, then Belfast in September and back to Dublin in November. Every time we announce that we’re match-making for an event the interest is unreal from all over the country. To show our appreciation for the clubs we’re going to make an effort to get to them (or as close as we can) instead of them always having to get down to us in Dublin,” explained Ryan. [BattlezoneFC.com]

With two professional title fights, as well as one amateur title fight on the card, coupled with a ‘Team Leinster vs. Team Munster’ provincial amateur series, featuring four bouts, there is no shortage of high-quality action on display this Saturday.

Main Event:

  • Welterweight Title Fight: Nick Laney (MMA Clinic) vs Sebastian Kozok (Ferocity MMA)
  • Featherweight Title Fight: Ricky Edgeworth (Team Ryano) vs Brian Moore (SBGi)
  • Featherweight: Sean “The Machine” Tobin (MMA Clinic) vs Peter Doyle (Team Ryano)
  • Welterweight (Amateur) Title Fight: Ciaran Daly (MMA Clinic) vs Paul Lawerence (Rush Fight Academy)

Team Munster. Vs Team Leinster (All Amateur bouts)

  • Bantamweight: Paul Wallace (MMA Clinic) vs Kyle Comerford (Kilkenny MMA)
  • Featherweight: Gary Wallace (Waterford MMA) vs Martin Downey (Team Balance)
  • Featherweight: Tim O’Leary (MMA Clinic) vs Scobie Burke (Coolmine MMA)
  • Lightweight: Andrew Murphy (Waterford MMA) vs Chris Boujard (Team Ryano)

Preliminary Fights (All Amateur bouts)

  • Bantamweight: Dylan Sheehan (Fermoy Fight Factory) vs Dean Knight (Legends)
  • Lightweight: KJ Carrig (Churchfield Thai Boxing) vs Gary Mooney (K2C)
  • Lightweight : Ben Sheehan (MMA Clinic) vs Gelegonya Szabolcs (Cork Sambo)
  • Welterweight: Keith McCabe (Team Balance) v Darragh Murray (Predator MMA)
  • Bantamweight: Barry Clinton (MMA Clinic) vs Alan Connolly (Sean Scoil)
  • Featherweight: Wayne Fitzgerald (Fermoy Fight Factory) vs Luke Daly (Churchfeild Thai Boxing)
  • Flyweight: Shane Marum (Tuatha de Danann) vs Grant Carroll (Kyuzo)
  • Featherweight: Jason Barry (MMA Clinic) vs John Healy (Churchfield Thai Boxing)
  • Featherweight: Shane Geraghty (Sean Scoil) vs Aaron Maguire (BJJ Cork)