Last night’s Invicta 12 event from Kansas City, MO offered a diverse evening of MMA action, which ended in something of a surprise — but then, maybe it shouldn’t have.

Why not, you ask?

Because a trend seems to be developing at Invicta, with young fighters scoring surprise submission wins to earn championship gold, at the promotion’s main events.

Back in December, it was the unheralded Herica Tiburcio of Brazil who shocked us when she defeated Michelle Waterson, by guillotine choke, at Invicta 10. Tiburcio, just 21 at the time, won the Invicta atomweight title and arguably the biggest upset of the year in what was her Invicta debut.

In September of the same year, Katja Kankaanpää, of Finland, earned the promotion’s vacant strawweight title with a fifth round D’Arce choke submission of Stephanie Eggink on the undercard of another Waterson bout. The win was a mild upset — but was more dramatic as Eggink was winning the fight.

This time however, Kankaanpää would be the victim of a late submission in a bout she was winning. Livia Renata Souza, who was, like Tiburcio, making her promotional debut, came back from an early deficit to secure a fourth round triangle choke win, and lift the title.

Katja Kankaanpää was earning most of the standup and grappling exchanges, but Souza’s jiu-jitsu acumen proved key. The Brazilian in now 8-0 in her MMA career, while Kankaanpää falls to 10-2-1.

So yes, it was another surprise for Invicta. But then, as a visit to BestFightOdds reveals, it was a night of upsets. Of the five bouts which topped the card, only one was won by the betting favorite. In that bout, contested at flyweight, Vanessa Porto dominated enough of the standup exchanges and threw in a bit of ground-and-pound to earn a unanimous decision over Roxanne Modafferi. Modafferi had defeated Porto in a bout back in 2008.

Other highlights included the continuing development of Raquel Pa’aluhi, who showed an improved standup attack in her bantamweight bout against Ediane Gomes. With the unanimous decision win, Pa’aluhi has now rebounded from a 2-4 start to her MMA career to win three straight bouts, including both of her appearances for Invicta.

Full Results:

Livia Renata Souza defeated Katja Kankaanpää by submission (triangle choke)at 3:58 of round four. Souza earns the Invicta FC strawweight title.
Vanessa Porto defeated Roxanne Modafferi by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27).
Faith Van Duin defeated Amanda Bell by submission (rear naked choke) at 0:38 of round two.
Raquel Pa’aluhi defeated Ediane Gomes by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28).
Latoya Walker defeated Peggy Morgan by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27).
Lacey Schuckman defeated Jenny Liou by TKO (punches) at 1:53 of round one.
Sharon Jacobson defeated Delaney Owen by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27).
Shannon Sinn defeated Maureen Riordon by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28).
Sijara Eubanks defeated Gina Begley by TKO (punches) at 4:59 of round one.