Bellator 103’s featherweight semifinals wrapped up tonight in Wichita, Kansas — with a unexpected continuing Cinderella story from the man called “Silverback,” and the expected results from the man they call “Pitbull.”

In the first semi, Justin “Silverback” Wilcox continued his unlikely road to the finals. The Team AKA representative won a unanimous decision against Joe Taimanglo of Guam, beginning and finishing the bout strong with a ground-and-pound attack. Taimanglo, who fights out of Alliance MMA in San Diego, had a few highlights in standup, particularly in round two — but found himself on his back and forced to stay defensive far too often.

The other semifinal was more of the same from Patricio Pitbull, as he scored a unanimous decision victory over Fabricio Guerreiro. Pitbull used a balanced attack featuring solid work in the clinch and at range in standup, and winning the majority of the takedowns as well — where he dominated the fight’s groundwork.

Pitbull is a ten-time Bellator veteran who has now advanced to the finals in three Bellator tournaments. The Team Nogueira standout won Season Four with a victory over Daniel Straus in 2001, and lost to Joe Warren in the Season Two finals in 2010. Wilcox is competing for Bellator for the first time, and had begun competing in this tournament on a week’s notice as a late replacement for Shahbulat Shamhalaev.

The tournament finals will take place November 15 at Revel in Atlantic City, NJ.

Full results:

Ricky Musgrave defeated Cody Carrillo via Submission (Kimura) at 2:59 of Round One
Jeimeson Saudino defeated Jesse Thornton via Split Decision (29-28, 29-28, 28-29)
Maurice Jackson defeated Matt Uhde via T/KO (Doctor Stoppage) R1 0:52
Remy Bussieres defeated Blake Pool via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Carlos Eduardo defeated Wayman Carter via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 2:06 of Round One
Dave Rickels defeated J.J. Ambrose via TKO (Punches and Elbows) at 2:37 of Round Three
Justin Wilcox defeated Joe Taimanglo via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Patricio Pitbull defeated Fabricio Guerreiro via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)