twitter google

UFC Fight Night Rio Weigh-In Results: Maia & LaFlare is On

UFC Fight Night Rio Weigh-In Results: Maia & LaFlare is On

The weigh ins have been completed for tomorrow’s UFC Fight Night event in Rio de Jainero, Brazil — with all 24 fighters successfully on weight.

The main event pits one of MMA’s most decorated jiu-jitsu competitors in Brazil’s own Demian Maia (pictured above) against undefeated Ryan LaFlare, of New York. Both are ranked among UFC’s top 15 welterweights: Maia at #7, LaFlare at #14. However, it’s LaFlare who is the betting favorite at around -150, possibly due to his wrestling acumen.

The rest of the event includes mostly regional level talent including many veterans of The Ultimate Fighter: Brazil, which begins its fourth season in the coming weeks. But there are a few familiar names, including a welterweight bout between former title contender Josh Koscheck, and one of the division’s hardest hitters, Erick Silva.

Another on the main card features women’s MMA pioneer Shayna Baszler against fringe contender Amanda Nunes — which Jim Genia previewed here at Caged Insider earlier today.

Among the preliminary bouts, Katsunori Kikuno, who was a lightweight staple with DEEP and DREAM promotions in his native Japan, continues his UFC featherweight campaign against Kevin Souza. Kikuno, who won his only bout at feather last September, assumed a classic karate stance as he faced off with Souza, eliciting cheers from an otherwise partisan crowd.

Brazil’s Gilbert “Durinho” Burns, a 2011 IBJJF World Champion at black belt, was hailed by Brian Stann on commentary as the fighter most likely to one day contend for a title on the undercard.

Full Results:

MAIN CARD (to air on FOX Sports 1, 10 p.m. ET, 7 pm PT)

Welterweights: Demian Maia (171) vs. Ryan LaFlare (171)
Welterweights: Josh Koscheck (170) vs. Erick Silva (171)
Lightweights: Tony Martin (156) vs. Leonardo Santos (156)
Women’s Bantamweights: Shayna Baszler (136) vs. Amanda Nunes (136)
Lightweights: Gilbert Burns (154) vs. Alex Oliveira (155)
Featherweights: Andre Fili (145) vs. Godofredo Pepey (145)

PRELIMINARY CARD (to air on FOX Sports 1, 8 p.m. ET, 5 pm PT)

Lightweights: Akbarh Arreola (156) vs. Francisco Trinaldo (155)
Featherweights: Katsunori Kikuno (146) vs. Kevin Souza (146)
Lightweights: Drew Dober (156) vs. Leandro Silva (156)
Lightweights: Cain Carrizosa (155) vs. Leonardo Mafra (155)

PRELIMINARY CARD (to be webcast via UFC Fight Pass, 7 p.m. ET, 4 pm PT)

Lightweights: Jorge de Oliveira (156) vs. Christos Giagos (155)
Flyweights: Fredy Serrano (125) vs. Bentley Syler (126)

 

 

Share This on Facebook

Follow Caged Insider