twitter google

UFC 185 Weigh In Results: Title Fights Are On; Cruickshank Over

UFC 185 Weigh In Results: Title Fights Are On; Cruickshank Over

The weigh-in event for UFC 185 is in the books, with all the combatants on the main card on weight for tomorrow’s event — including the title bouts pitting Anthony Pettis against Rafael Dos Anjos, and Carla Esparza against Joanna Jedrzejczyk.

The only fighter to weigh in over a contracted limit was lightweight Daron Cruickshank, who was 157.5 for his bout against Beneil Dariush. He will have two hours to make 156, or one pound over the lightweight limit (as non-title bouts receive one pound leeway).

The co-main events offered a few memorable moments.

Carla Esparza’s challenger for the UFC Strawweight Championship tomorrow, Joanna Jedrzejczyk, offered her opponent a cookie after both weighed in successfully.  The crowd favorite Esparza, who uses the nickname “Cookie Monster” in the cage, smiled and accepted it — saying later that the gift was a first from an opponent.

UFC Lightweight Champion Anthony Pettis and challenger Rafael Dos Anjos had the night’s most intense stare down. In brief interviews afterwards, Pettis predicted a knockout victory, while Dos Anjos was more reserved.

“God gave me this opportunity and I’m going to take it,” the Brazilian said.

Full Results:

Main Card (to air on PPV at 10 PM ET/ 7 pm PT)

Lightweights: Anthony Pettis (155) vs. Rafael dos Anjos (155) for Pettis’ UFC Lightweight Championship
Women’s Strawweights: Carla Esparza (115) vs. Joanna Jedrzejczyk (115) for Esparza’s UFC Women’s Strawweight Championship
Welterweights: Johny Hendricks (170) vs. Matt Brown (171)
Heavyweights: Roy Nelson (254) vs. Alistair Overeem (247)
Flyweights: Henry Cejudo (125) vs. Chris Cariaso (126)

Preliminary Card (to air on FX at 8 PM ET, 5 pm PT)

Lightweights: Sam Stout (156) vs. Ross Pearson (156)
Middleweights: Elias Theodorou (186) vs. Roger Narvaez (186)
Lightweights: Daron Cruickshank (157.5) vs. Beneil Dariush (156) – Cruickshank has 2 hours to lose 1.5 lbs
Heavyweights: Jared Rosholt (245) vs. Josh Copeland (264)

Preliminary Card (to be webcast on UFC Fight Pass at 6:30 ET, 3:30 PT)

Flyweights: Sergio Pettis (126) vs. Ryan Benoit (126)
Lightweights: Jake Lindsey (156) vs. Joseph Duffy (156)
Women’s Bantamweights: Larissa Pacheco (136) vs. Germaine de Randamie (136)

 

Share This on Facebook

Follow Caged Insider