twitter google

Cage Warriors 55: Pendred vs. Mills Preview

Cage Warriors 55 takes place this Saturday live from Dublin, Ireland in The Helix where CWFC champion Cathal Pendred makes his first title defence against UFC veteran Che Mills in the main event.

Pendred (12-2-1) won the CWFC welterweight title in London back in March and will look to prove he’s worth a place on the UFC roster alongside SBG teammate Conor McGregor when he attempts to defeat former UFC co-main event-er Che Mills (15-5, 2 NC), who himself is coming off of a controversial ‘no contest’ against Matt Riddle at UFC on FUEL TV 7 in London back in February.

In the co-main event, Dubliner Neil Seery (12-9) takes on Mikael Silander (8-1) for the inaugural CWFC flyweight championship. Seery is coming off of an impressive first round stoppage win over Paul Marin back in April at Cage Warriors 53, while Silander’s last fight saw him pick up a third round submission victory back in October at Fight Festival 32 in his home country of Finland.

Elsewhere on the main card, which is packed with the finest fighters Ireland can offer, former Cage Contender middleweight king Chris Fields (10-5), who is coming off of a loss to current CWFC middleweight champion Jesse Taylor takes on Norman Paraisy (11-3) in a middleweight contender fight. Also, Paul “Redser” Redmond (7-3) takes on Marc Allen in the lightweight division, while Philip Mulpeter (5-3) takes on Avi Jack (6-2) in the promotion’s middleweight division.

Five preliminary fights will complete the card, with three of them being aired on Facebook. The main card will be streamed LIVE on in North America from 4pm, on in Ireland from 9pm GMT and on for the rest of the world. Here’s the card in full:

(*Due to an injury to Avi Jack, the bout between Philip Mulpeter and Jack has been pulled from the card due to a lack of time being available to find a suitable replacement to face Mulpeter. Subsequently, the meeting of Jean N’Doye and Steve McCombe has been promoted from the Facebook Prelims to opening the Main Card.)

MAIN CARD: (9:00pm GMT / 5:00pm ET / 2:00pm PT)

  • Cathal Pendred (Champion) vs. Che Mills – for the CWFC welterweight title
  • Neil Seery vs, Mikael Silander – for the inaugural CWFC flyweight title
  • Chris Fields vs. Norman Paraisy
  • Paul Redmond vs. Marc Allen
  • Steve McCombe vs. Jean N’Doye

FACEBOOK PRELIMS: (8:10pm GMT / 3:10pm ET / 12:10pm PT)

  • Piotr Ptasinski vs. John Redmond
  • Stephen Coll vs. Liam James

UNAIRED PRELIMS: (7:30pm GMT / 2:30pm ET / 11:30am PT)

  • Konrad Iwandowski vs. Sam Francis
  • Gavin Kelly vs. Ben Rees

For more on this weekend’s card, check out MMA Review Podcast, which features Cathal Pendred, Chris Fields (as co-host), Neil Seery and Paul Redmond as they discuss their upcoming bouts.
Photo via Cage Warriors

Share This on Facebook

Follow Caged Insider